Thank You, Picture People | Stephanie Pana Photography | 2010

24 Apr

Not sure if many of you know my background with The Picture People, but I’ve been working with the company for 2 years now and just had my last day this week. I know what you’re saying, but this place taught me SO much. Sure, my style outside of the studio is very different but this studio taught me all the basics that no book or any college could have ever taught me. I had hands on experience every day I worked there and every session I’ve ever done in the past couple years has lead me to the photographer that I am today. I have seen so much growth in myself in not only the past 2 years but even in the past 6 months!

This job taught me the true foundations of photography. I learned posing, lighting, and all the in’s and out’s of good camera technique. I learned how to work with all age groups and all types of portrait photography. I have gained so much knowledge of being a good sales person and a good person to my customers. All of these lessons I have learned over the past two years have helped me take off on my own journey into photography and turn what I’ve learned there into something I can call my own.

I know a lot of true photographers don’t like these kind of studios, and I get that. A lot of photographers at these places have no clue what they are doing but I was lucky enough to be blessed with a great small crew of people who individually taught me something about this art. I think the studio I worked at offered something fresh and unique and I am so grateful to have been a part of that. Giving people portraits of some pretty great memories.

Being that this was my last week, I thought it was amazing that I got one of the photos I had taken last year into this month’s “Portrait Times” (a monthly magazine for The Picture People studios)! In the two years I’ve worked here I had never gotten anything published so to see this was such a wonderful feeling. It felt like a great sign of things to come in my future as a photographer on my own terms. What a beautiful journey I have had with this company. I can’t even begin to tell you!  Thank you to my ladies at 372, I will miss you all!!

*The image above is copyright to The Picture People and not myself*

Leave a Reply

